Moroccan spiced cauliflower & almond soup

I got this recipe from bbcgoodfood.com via my good friend Carolyn Jane, and it is delish. You can get harissa paste at any international grocery, or there are lots of online sources as well. Its not very expensive, and I am already thinking of lots of other recipes I can add it to…

I have changed the original ingredient list to the proportions I used, and noted as such below, and converted to US portions.

  • 1 large cauliflower
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp each ground cinnamon, cumin and coriander (original called for 1/2 tsp each)
  • 2 tbsp harissa paste , plus extra drizzle for garnish
  • 4 cups vegetable stock (heated before blending below)
  • 50g toasted slivered almonds , plus extra for garnish (get raw and toast yourself to save on the calories of things like almond accents, which are good but high in fat and sodium)
  1. Cut the cauliflower into small florets. Fry olive oil, ground cinnamon, cumin and coriander and harissa paste for 2 mins in a large pan. Add the cauliflower, stock and almonds. Cover and cook for 20 mins until the cauliflower is tender. Blend soup until smooth, then serve with an extra drizzle of harissa and a sprinkle of toasted almonds.

Serves 4

PER SERVING

200 calories, protein 8g, carbohydrate 8g, fat 16 g, saturated fat 2g, fibre 3g, sugar 3g, salt 2.7 g

Recipe from Good Food magazine, January 2012.

2 comments
  1. OMG. It must be serendipitous that I came across your blog today b/c this soup sounds amazing and I actually have all the ingredients in my pantry right now. Like, when does that ever happen?! I’m totally prepping this tonight and putting it in my slow cooker tomorrow morning so I have some delicous soup to come home to after a full day of AACRAO.

  2. melgott said:

    Nice to see we share some other interests besides highered & AACRAO!! enjoy the soup!

Leave a Reply

